Organizational structure

Organizational structure

President Michael A. McRobbie and IU Bloomington Provost Lauren Robel commissioned the initiative's co-chairs and executive director to undertake the task of digitizing treasures that preserve cultural, social, and historical traditions from many parts of the world; document the history and traditions of Indiana University and the state of Indiana; and record creative performances from artists at IU and beyond.

Operational structure

IU Media Digitization Studios

Mike Casey, Director of technical operations

Patrick Feaster, Media preservation specialist

Dan Figurelli, Audio preservation engineer

Glenn Hicks, Quality control specialist

Susan Hooyenga, Processing and quality control specialist

Rob Mobley, Video preservation engineer

Jonathan Richardson, AV specialist

Melissa Widzinski, Audio preservation engineer

Memnon Archiving Services, Inc. – A Sony Company

Michel Merten, Co-Chief Executive Officer
Andrew Dapuzzo, Director Of US Operations
John Macdonald, Operations manager
Nathalie Mouton, Assistant operations manager
Ken Falls, Maintenance engineer
Ari Swartz, QC and Studio Supervisor
Auston Germany, QC and Studio Supervisor

IT team

Brian McGough, Enterprise architect/software architect

Steve Wallace and Jon-Paul Herron, Network architects

Dave Hunter and team, Network engineers

Kurt Seiffert and Mike Floyd, Storage and infrastructure architects

Kristy Kallback-Rose and team, Storage engineers

Matt Link, Operational sponsor

Joe Husk and EITS Team, IT Support

Library operations

Julie Bobay, Director, MDPI library operations and executive associate dean, IU Libraries

Sherri Michaels, Head of Collection Management

Julie Hardesty, Metadata Analyst

Naz Pantaloni, Copyright Program Librarian

Thomas Whittaker, Head of Media Cataloging

Andrew Albrecht, Lead Systems Analyst/programmer

Adam Ploshay, Programmer/analyst

Will Cowan, Head, Software development

Maria Whitaker, Head, Digital Media Software Development

Nicholae Cline, Digital Research Librarian

Jon Dunn, Assistant Dean for Library Technologies

Brian Wheeler, Senior Systems Engineer

Chris Colvard, Programmer/Analyst

Brian Keese, Programmer/Analyst

Leah Lee, Programmer/Analyst

Carrick Rogers, Programmer/Analyst

Working Groups

A number of working groups are actively developing systems, procedures, workflows, and policies for MDPI. This includes working groups in the following areas: 

Library and Media Units Operations – developing the pre-digitization part of the MDPI system

IT – developing network and storage systems

Software Development – creating software applications for various workflows

SIP – developing specifications for a Submission Information Package

Rights – investigating rights issues

Access – policies and procedures relating to access for IU media content holders as well as outside researchers

Audio and Video Engineering – technical aspects of digitization workflows and studio development

IT Communications – promotional pieces for MDPI

Website – content development for MDPI website

Blog – content development for MDPI blog